The Sidney Prize and the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

The Sidney Prize and the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

The Sydney Prize is awarded each year to a work of writing by a Dartmouth graduate student. It honors the memory of Professor Sidney Cox, a former Dartmouth instructor renowned for his literary talents and ability to inspire students to pursue their creative dreams. The prize is given for the best essay addressing a specific topic. The winner receives a sum of money and the essay is published in a book. The essay is also presented at a public lecture.

The scholarship seeks to help female engineers realize their ambitions and find success in their careers. This is especially important because women are underrepresented in the engineering industry. The award provides the winner with a significant amount of money to further their education in engineering and to learn from industry leaders. The scholarship also comes with other perks, including the opportunity to attend conferences and networking events.

In addition to the scholarship, winners are expected to use their prize money for promoting science. This could include educating the public on scientific issues or sparking interest in sciences fields like biology or medicine. It could even involve introducing new technologies that would benefit humanity.

Each year, the Sydney Prize honours a nominee who promotes “peace with justice”, human rights and non-violence. This year, Nazanin Boniadi, an Iranian-born actor and activist, was awarded the prize. The prize was established by the Australian Peace Foundation and the NSW Branch of the NSW Teachers Federation.

Another well known Sydney prize is the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize, which is run by the magazine Overland in conjunction with the Neilma Sidney Foundation. It is open to writers worldwide. The winner of the competition receives $5,000 cash and their story is published in Overland’s autumn 2024 issue. The runners-up will each be awarded $750.

The Sidney Hook Memorial Award is given each year to a Phi Beta Kappa member for national distinction in scholarship, undergraduate teaching and leadership in the cause of liberal arts education. Nominations for the prize are accepted every three years, with a call for nominations announced a year and a half prior to each Triennial Council Meeting through the Key Reporter, the General Newsletter and social media.

The Sydney History Prizes are awarded annually in the fields of Australian History, General History and New South Wales History. Each of the prizes is worth $15,000, and will be given to a historical work that makes a significant contribution to understanding an aspect of Australian history. The judging committee will be made up of prominent historians and academics from across Australia. The judges will be looking for a work that shows imagination, originality and integrity. Nominations for the awards are open from September to October each year. A shortlist will then be determined by the judges. The winner will be notified by the end of March each year. The Sydney History Prizes are supported by the New South Wales Government and the University of Wollongong.